Fashion

1st Post! and my 1st Maxi dress~

This is my first post on my fashion style section. I enjoy fashion but I don’t have a big budget, so this will be about my budget fashion finds for a late 20’s petite Asian-American gal. I am 5’2″ and weigh 110 lbs.

First off, I want to share this beautiful maxi dress that I got from Gap. Maxi dress/skirts are hard to find for petite girls as they tend to be too long. This Panel Maxi Dress from Gap in regular XS size ended just at my ankles. It has a very slight hi-lo hem. When I saw that the price was marked down from $49 to $17, I knew I had to get it!

panelmaxiskirt
Gap Model
2015-11-12 00.08.14
Me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s very lightweight and flowy. I just loved twirling in it. This is a great maxi skirt for the summer time even in black. It appears very plain, but it’s simple and can be glammed up with just a few accessories. I didn’t look up reviews for this dress until I got back home and it had a 4 out of 5 star rating. I read some reviews that it shrinks in the wash, so I plan to hand wash it and see if that can minimize it.

I was going to a November wedding in Long Island, NY and thought that this maxi dress would be great for wearing to winter weddings since I can wear leggings underneath to better shield the legs from the cold. I didn’t li
ke how the string that tied around my true waist was not showing, so I decided to wear my younger sister’s brown skinny belt, which was perfect to shoe pair with another borrowed item from her, a strappy wedge sandal from Nine West. I love raiding her stuff when I need something specific for my style and I thank her so much for her somewhat similar taste. It’s not shown in the picture, but I am wearing my insulin pump on the back that held onto my strapless bra.

2015-11-12 00.01.06
After switching out the stringy belt with a brown skinny belt.
2015-11-11 23.45.47
Nine West strappy wedge sandal

Next was the jewelry search. A quick Internet search told me that it was best to not wear a necklace or dramatic earrings when wearing a high neckline as that was already creating a small neck illusion. Wearing a necklace and very large earrings would make the neck even smaller. It was best to wear statement bracelets or stud earrings. I don’t have statement bracelets that would match with my dress, but I always wearing my silver plated watch on my left wrist and silver plated medical bracelet on my right wrist. I borrowed my little sister’s (again) long silver earrings since they would go well with the jewelry on my wrists.

I decided to wear my hair as a half up-half down to show off the earrings and it’s also my bf’s favorite hairstyle on me. For makeup, I kept it simple as my skin is very sensitive, so I mostly put on black eyeliner, concealer, powder foundation, and lip gloss. I didn’t get any compliments from other weddings guests except how beautiful my bf kept telling me. But I still loved the outfit that I created with the help of my little sister’s stuff.

2015-11-15 17.51.18

 

One thought on “1st Post! and my 1st Maxi dress~

Leave a comment..(markdown allowed too)

