Fashion

the Chambray shirt

I’ve always thought the Chambray and Denim shirts were interchangeable names, but they are not. According to a quick Google search,

A chambray is a plain weave fabric woven with a colored yarn in the warp and a white yarn in the weft. Like chambray, denim is made with a colored yarn in the warp and white in the weft, but is woven in a twill construction.

..And I still wouldn’t know the difference if I saw it in person anyways since it’s dependent on the weaving technique. I had been wanting a jean-like shirt, which I will call Chambray from now on, for quite some years, but it was hard to find the one I liked. I like the light denim look, but don’t like the denim feel as a top, which was often the case. I found this 1969 Bleached Western Shirt at Gap and instantly knew that this was the classic style that I was looking for.

Gap 1969 Bleached Western Shirt
Gap model in 1969 Bleached Western Shirt

It is a light blue denim color and somewhat thick, but not stiff like new denim. The collar was not tight around my neck either. I liked the pearl-white buttons too. But I was waiting for it go on sale before purchasing, and then, my bf finds out and gets it for me secretly. Thank you, Bubee!

The XS in regular size fits me just right. It is slightly tight around the shoulder area, but leaving the top button unbuttoned helps a lot. But that means that I need to wear a white camisole underneath. I roll up the sleeves halfway like the model but I also like it left un-tampered with in cooler weather. I usually pair this with darker colored pants/shorts to give it more contrast.

afb70266f2458cc467397dfd14bdd736

2015-04-11 20.02.51
wearing the chambray shirt with unrolled sleeves in spring time
2015-09-26 16.49.32
wearing the chambray shirt with halfway rolled up sleeves in early autumn
Leave a comment..(markdown allowed too)

