Beauty

Sampling the Mario Badescu Drying Cream

d0f676d0716dfc20c7ebcf5470908dab

I never heard of Mario Badescu’s acne products until my younger sister gave me a drying cream to sample. I had no expectations for it so I was quite surprised at the results after just one use overnight. I wanted to tested it out more before recommending this to everybody I knew. There’s a label that says it works for all skin types. My younger sister has oily skin while mine is oily in summer and oily (T area)/dry (cheeks) in the winter. It works more like a spot corrector since you need to dab your finger back into the cream. That might sound unhygienic but you just need to have clean fingers which is always the case regardless of the packaging type.

Ingredients: Deionized Water (Aqua), Zinc Oxide, Aloe (Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice) Gel, Cetyl Alcohol, Lemon (Citrus Medica Limonum) Extract, Colloidal Sulfur, Ervol, Octyl Palmitate, Ichthammol, Polysorbate 80, Titanium Dioxide, Polyglycerylmethacrylate (and) Propylene Glycol

One of the ingredients is sulfur which may pose as a nose alert, but it doesn’t really smell like rotten eggs at all. It smells more like …foundation makeup? But the smell has never discouraged me from using it and always dissipates after application in a few minutes.

The consistency is dry and thick. The color is off-white and despite my pale-yellowish skin, it is noticeable when I don’t completely rub it in. It works by drying up the affected area and that hastens the pimple development process so that it can go away faster.

How I use it: I am no longer a teenager so I don’t have huge acne breakouts. But I still do get 3-4 pimples in various parts in my T-area. Before I hit the bed,  with a clean face and hand, I lightly dab it with my finger because I only need a thin layer. I rub it on just enough to make sure the entire pimple is covered up. I don’t need to make sure the product is completely rubbed into my skin. I usually only put this on over night, but sometimes I put it on in the morning when I notice the pimple right before I have to head out (just lovely >_>). I rub it in a little more so that it can sort of act as a concealer.

It is most effective when applied from the beginning stages of the pimple and on a consistent basis. I do notice results overnight with the pimple appearing flattened and less red, and then reapply about 3-4 nights for it to completely disappear. I don’t need to put it on more than 1-2 times a day since it is very drying on the skin.

Since a little goes a long way, I’ve had the sample for 2 years now and it now looks like this:

041bc0b2790429bea545f9591b36dfe9

You can grab free samples of this from a local Ulta Beauty retailer to see if it works for you or not. It is normally in a 0.5 oz tub and retails for $17.

Leave a comment..(markdown allowed too)