Food

Happy Chinese New Year! Year of the Monkey~

Xin Nian Kuai Le if you speak Mandarin.

Gong Hei Fat Choi if you speak Cantonese like me!

I just wanted to wish all celebrators (and non-celebrators) warm wishes for the Lunar New Year whether you are Chinese or Thai or Vietnamese or Korean and etc. I love seeing the festivities and all the red/gold color in the decorations and fashion. I am not able to celebrate it with my family this year but thanks to instant messaging, I am still able to send quick audio/video messages and spam the same sticker set to all my relatives in the US and China. Since the first day of CNY starts on a weekday (it lasts for about 2 weeks where the Asian countries that do celebrate are all off-duty and even the Chinese stock markets closes for the week), my bf and I decided to celebrate yesterday by going to dim sum or yum cha at a place called Golden House. It’s an annual eating tradition that I must follow to still keep close to my heritage. Since it was just the 2 of us, we could only eat 6 small plates of food, but the table is usually filled with food when I’m with my family. I also found out that I can use SnapChat to see all the new year activities going around all over the world, so thank you Snapchat – I finally see one good purpose of this app haha.

2016-02-07 10.42.32
Dim Sum: (top row) char siu bao, black bean steamed short ribs, turnip cake; (bottom row) char siu cheong fun, har gow, cruller cheong fun

 

 

Leave a comment..(markdown allowed too)